On the Future of Work

On the Future of Work

“…What’s fascinating to me, in a very macabre way, is that many of my young co-workers don’t know that there are actually jobs that provide good benefits. They have never experienced that so far and that says a great deal about what it’s like to work in the US now.

People will say “why don’t you get another job?” If only it were that easy. I’m in my mid-50s, MBA, 30+ years of international business experience and I can’t find a decent job anywhere. I attribute this in part to very real ageism but I’ll leave that for another day. The bottom line is that good-paying jobs are not plentiful any longer. The trend in business (especially in the tech world) is toward the use of contractors and paying them significantly less than they would a full-time employee. And they get away with it. It’s truly a race to the bottom…”

Leave a comment

Filed under Spotlights

Leave a Reply

